Cyber Security Essentials Certificate

The importance of implementing Cyber Security Best Practice is recognised by the UK Government through its Cyber Security Essentials Certification program.  As awareness grows around the risk of cyber security breaches companies around the world are focusing on how they can minimise the risk of being compromised by a cyber attack.

Cyber attacks can cost your business a significant about of time and money.  Critically, Cyber attacks are becoming headline news and your reputation can be very quickly damaged by an attack.

Headlines, record fines and damage limitation have become the consequences of Cyber Crime.

Where do you start?  The Cyber Security Essentials program is the perfect place for businesses of all sizes to start.  With a standard and advance program the Certification lays out the foundation for Cyber Security Best Practice.

The program consists of five key controls:

  1. Boundary firewalls and internet gateways
  2. Secure Configuration
  3. Access Control
  4. Malware Protection
  5. Patch Management

Companies wishing to qualify for certification are required to follow the best practice as laid out in the Requirements Document.  Once the work has been completed there are two levels of certification the company can apply for:

  1. Cyber Security Essentials
  2. Cyber Security Essentials Plus

The key difference between the two are that the standard program is self-assessed and evidence is provided to the Certification body for their review, whereas the Cyber Security Plus Certificate requires external testing by the Certification Body.

The UK Government are very keen for UK Companies to sign up to the scheme and will be looking for UK businesses to acquire the certificate in order to do business with National and Local Government bodies.

Tags: , , , ,